top of page
Search
  • cbcarpen

Research 11/18

For my research today, I expanded on what I was exploring on Monday. I was able to get in touch with Scott Kreider and he gave me a lot of good information about the laser cutter. The laser cutter bed is 18" x 24" and it can cut wood as well as paper. Wood would be very difficult to use to construct the shapes so I am going to use a paper called Bristol board instead. This will allow me to fold the shapes together and it will be much easier to construct them, as for the lines that I am drawing on them I will use pens or markers. Scott also informed me that the wood shop will be open after break, so I will work on getting all my files ready and then I will cut out the shapes, using the laser cutter when we get back from break. As for the files, Scott also helped me create files that will be compatible with the cutter. The images below are the files I have created that will be used with the cutter. The red lines are where it will cut through the material and the blue lines are denoting where etchings will be. The etchings will help me fold and assemble the material. I also made the connection to one of the contemporary artists I researched earlier in this class. Rogan Brown made very complex pieces of art that resembled different structures in nature and he used a laser cutter to create them.


As for the lines that I will draw on the sides, I began some research into how other artists in history have used the line. I want to reference art history while also creating my own style. The lines will be how I make this a visually interesting piece of art while also relating conceptually to math in art.



References:


Chilton, Gioia and Patricia Leavy. "Arts-Based Research Practice: Merging Social Research

and the Creative Arts." The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research (July 2014): 1-40.


Knowles, Cole. Handbook of the Arts in Qualitative Research: Perspectives, Methodologies, Examples, and Issues. Handbook of the Arts in Qualitative Research. Thousand Oaks: SAGE Publications, 2007.


Plonczak, Irene, and Susan Goefz Zwirn. "Understanding the ART IN SCIENCE and the SCIENCE IN ART Through Crosscutting Concepts." Science Scope 38, no. 7 (2015): 57-63. Accessed November 2, 2020. http://www.jstor.org/stable/43691253.


Rogan Brown, Ghost Coral Colour Variation, 2020, laser cut paper, 35 x 35" (88 x 88 cm).


Stewart, Jessica. “Unwinding the Long History of Line Art,” August 26, 2020. https://mymodernmet.com/line-art-history/.










2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Research in Practice 12/9

Today I was focused on working on my research paper/artist statement. I've made some good progress and only have the conclusion and editing left to do. I will send it to Anna this weekend once I'm fin

Half-Process Presentation

My art project will be completed by this weekend. I have an appointment with Scott to use the laser cutter Friday morning. I will be using material called Bristol board. I already have the files ready

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page