top of page
Search
  • cbcarpen

Midterm Working Process








During my research I was thinking about different mathematical equations and how they can have an element of randomness to them. I remember learning about this piece of installation art (I can't remember the name and I was unable to find it in my research) where someone had a monitor with a privacy screen on it so that only 1 person could view it at a time. When the person looked through the viewer, they also had to hit a button which would generate a new piece of art based on an algorithm. Every time you hit the button, it was a new piece of art so you know that no one else saw what you saw. I was thinking about how this can be done with an algorithm (math) and also how it relates to quantum theory (science) in how the observation of certain particles changes that particle. Similarly, the observation of this artwork changes the artwork and makes it unique to the person that viewed it. I'm not sure how but in my midterm or possibly final I want to experiment with generative art that changes every time you look at it.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Research in Practice 12/9

Today I was focused on working on my research paper/artist statement. I've made some good progress and only have the conclusion and editing left to do. I will send it to Anna this weekend once I'm fin

Half-Process Presentation

My art project will be completed by this weekend. I have an appointment with Scott to use the laser cutter Friday morning. I will be using material called Bristol board. I already have the files ready

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page