top of page
Search
  • cbcarpen

Final Project Proposal

Caleb Carpenter

Final Research Proposal

9 November 2020


Research Inquiry:


What problem, issue, or phenomenon do you want to explore through the final project?

I am exploring how math and science can influence aesthetics and be used to enhance art and design.


What will be the sub-questions (categories) you want to explore or discuss this inquiry?

Sub questions are: how have artists in history used math and science in their art? How have scientists used art to explain scientific phenomena?


How will arts or your secondary field knowledge be integrated into your research?

I will use what I’ve learned in art history to find examples and inspiration of how other artists have explored similar themes. Like in my midterm I will also use techniques I’ve learned in my studios such as 3D and 2D composition techniques.


Purpose Statement:

Describe the final project and how it can help you to explore your research inquiry. (Decide if you will present the project as an essay or an art project too.)

I will present the final project as an art project. It will be similar to my midterm where I create an art object that is related to a single mathematical or scientific concept. I’m not sure if I want to expand on my midterm and use the same math formula or if I want to explore a new concept.


How will you apply the integrated knowledge from art, the secondary areas, and your findings of the midterm project to this final project?

I will build off what I learned from the midterm in my final. I can also use techniques from my 2nd field just as the use of technology.


The significance/value/worth of your research

This project will show that math and science and art can benefit from each other and show that the disciplines shouldn’t be perceived as separate.


Expected results (outcomes):

What do you expect to learn from this research?

I will learn about new ways to approach art projects and learn about how to combine a logical thought process with a creative field.


What are your expected outcomes? List them.

Learning new techniques for creating art both conceptually and technically.

Showing that science and art benefit from each other and shouldn’t be seen as separate.


Investigation and concerns:

How will you conduct your research investigation? Identify research methods or art techniques that will be used to explore your research.

My research method will be similar to how I conducted research for the midterm. I will use visual and historical art analysis to research ways that other artists have worked with this topic. I will then research a specific mathematical or scientific concept that I want to explore in my art and do arts-based research to come up with an art project that relates to the concept I choose.


Identify potential research, scholars, artists, etc. that will inform your work. Be specific and describe all aspects of your project. (You should review and reference from your annotated bibliographies)

I have lots of hand written notes from an art history class that was focused on science and art, I reference these notes frequently to get inspiration for both art as well as math and science concepts. Artists I have researched in the past related to this topic are, Hokusai, Luke Jerram, Rogan Brown and James Turrell.


Is there any possible ethical issue you should be aware of and take care of?

Not that I’m aware of.


Analysis and interpretation:

How will you analyze and interpret/report your project results and findings?

I will present my project as an artist statement accompanied by photos of my art object. I will also make a presentation that goes over my concept and research.


How will you know your research is successful or not successful?

I will know if my research was successful if I create an art object that can serve as a visually intriguing piece of art and also related to math and science conceptually.


Create a proposed timeline by weeks.

Week of November 9th: Gather sources and begin preliminary research.

Week of November 16th: Continue research and begin conceptualizing art project.

Week of November 30th: Construct art project.

Week of December 7th: Finish artist statement and any final touches on art project.

Week of December 14th: Prepare for and deliver final presentation.


Identify your citation style.

Chicago.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Research in Practice 12/9

Today I was focused on working on my research paper/artist statement. I've made some good progress and only have the conclusion and editing left to do. I will send it to Anna this weekend once I'm fin

Half-Process Presentation

My art project will be completed by this weekend. I have an appointment with Scott to use the laser cutter Friday morning. I will be using material called Bristol board. I already have the files ready

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page