top of page
Search
  • cbcarpen

10/14 Midterm Research


For my research today I was investigating Euler's Characteristic. This is a formula that is used to describe every platonic solid as well as 2 dimensional lines. The formula is v+e-f=2. V is vertices, e is edges, and f is faces. If you were to count this out on a cube for instance you would find 8 vertices, 12 edges, and 6 faces. 8-12+6=2. This characteristic relates to my research inquiry because art can be influenced by mathematical equations like this. The image included is a prototype of what I could do with this particular equation. It looks like an abstract art piece and is interesting to look at but every line follows the formula. The world is incredibly complex but I think a lot of it (if not all of it) can be described with simple mathematical equations like this one. That's really the message of this piece -- reality looks incredibly complex but we can make sense of it through math and science. This piece looks really complex and overwhelming when you first look at it but it was constructed with a single equation.


Sources:

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Research in Practice 12/9

Today I was focused on working on my research paper/artist statement. I've made some good progress and only have the conclusion and editing left to do. I will send it to Anna this weekend once I'm fin

Half-Process Presentation

My art project will be completed by this weekend. I have an appointment with Scott to use the laser cutter Friday morning. I will be using material called Bristol board. I already have the files ready

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page